Derby Uni Footy Journos

The only dedicated Football Journalism Course


Captain Alex Brent hopeful after tough Varsity loss for Derby’s dodgeball team

Alex Brent after his loss to Hertfordshire in Varsity 2024.

Ronnie Langhorne reports from Kedleston Road

University of Derby’s dodgeball team were defeated 11-7 at Kedleston Road by Hertfordshire in Varsity 2024.

Derby captain Alex Brent was happy with the result, despite his side not quite being able to get the win.

When asked about the performance, he said: “We started poorly and ended strongly so hopefully that momentum can carry other teams forward.

“We’ve got a lot of good players, some that couldn’t make it today so hopefully the team is stronger and better than ever next year.”

“I don’t want to do if, buts and maybes but we played well and I’m happy with the result anyway.”

Brent also went on to speak about the opposition, and how well they performed.

“Their captain was very good; he kept getting me out,” he said. “Their right-winger too [with] some great catches so [they were] very impressive.”

Hertfordshire’s captain was also delighted with his team’s performance.

He said: “We don’t have any coaches or anything [so] I’ve basically become the coach of our team.

“I’m proud of my team, because for most of them, it’s their first time ever playing. I’m proud of each and every one of these players.

“Each of them deserves their own accords, I’m just here to push them to their best.”

He went on to add that he believes Hertfordshire can get one over on Derby at this year’s Varsity.

He said: “We can win this. I believe in everyone, I think everyone’s changed from last year.

“I still believe you guys [University of Derby] are a formidable force, and we’ve lost against you for the last two years but I’m happy to bring it back to Hertfordshire this year.”

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.